What is the meaning of hanshi, renshi, kyoshi

by Kate
(South Africa)

I often hear the titles hanshi, renshi or kyoshi used but was never quite certain what they meant.

Unfortunately, the information on the web is a bit conflicting.

Could you tell me what each rank denotes and what is needed for a kendoka to attain each?

Answer: Good question!

Dan-i (Rank): This indicates over-all kendō abilities including techniques and mentalities (attitudes).

Shōgō (Title): ┬áThis indicates the degree of completion as a kendoist. In addition to the conditions of dan-i, one must have instruction abilities and knowledge of kendō.

Types of Shōgō:

Renshi: Those who have practiced and succeeded to show the principle of the sword and have good knowledge of kendō. Must hold 6-dan.

Kyōshi: Those who have mastered the principle of the sword and have excellent knowledge of kendō. Must hold 7-dan.

Hanshi: The highest of all. Those who have mastered and completed the principle of the sword, have outstanding knowledge of kendō and excellent personality with a virtue. Must hold 8-dan.

Now I translated these from All Japan Kendo Federation website. I am sure there are some other versions of its translation.

If you have a copy issued by International Kendo Federation (FIK), you must stick to the translation by FIK because it is official.

Hope this helps.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Any Questions about Kendo.