Kendo-Guide.Com Facebook Fanpage
Kendo-Guide.Com YouTube Channel
Kendo-Guide.Com Twitter
Kendo-Guide.Com Podcast

What happens if the shinai falls down in a match?

by faiz(combat)
(brunei )

In a kendo match, a kendoka gets hit on his shinai and his shinai falls down on the ground...I’m confused this part.


Should he continue the match? Or he loses the match right the way?

Some kendoka say he just get a warning, some say he loses the match. I’m a kendoka from Brunei Darussalam for 4 years and I’m a 1kyu. We need a guide from people who know more than we do. So onigaishimas!! XD

Answer: If a person drops his/her shinai for any reason, he/she is penalized (hansoku). Maybe in some tournament they may change this to a warning (chūi), especially when competitors are children who are not very familiar with the rules.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Any Questions about Kendo.

Like This Page?


Join The Study Group

Simply click the image below or click here and follow the instructions.

Study Group and Newsletter