Kendo-Guide.Com Facebook Fanpage
Kendo-Guide.Com YouTube Channel
Kendo-Guide.Com Twitter
Kendo-Guide.Com Podcast

Comments for What happens if the shinai falls down in a match?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dropping shinai
by: Anonymous

Yes - to all above.

But be aware that your opponent is allowed to score a hit till the referee stops the fight. This may take a few seconds.

So if you drop your shinai then close the distance to the opponent and try to grab him.

Yes - this will also result a hansuko (for touching the opponent), but the hansukos are not cumulative and you will get one anyway (for dropping). Far better than receiving an ippon.

Kendo-Guide.Com: Thank you for your post. It is true that you can strike your opponent if he/she drops his/her shinai before the main shinpan stops the match.

About grabbing your opponent. In shiai, you do not want to lose. I completely understand it. What I think it would be better to do is to get closer or take some distance and do not let him/her strike you without grabbing. While doing so, you must not lose eye contact.

Hope this helps.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Any Questions about Kendo.

Return to What happens if the shinai falls down in a match?.

Like This Page?


Join The Study Group

Simply click the image below or click here and follow the instructions.

Study Group and Newsletter